Friday Finds #15: March 10, 2017

screen-shot-2016-11-25-at-9-09-29-amFriday Finds (a feature originated by Jenn at Books and A Beat) showcases the most interesting books that I have encountered during the last week and have added to my TBR wish list on Goodreads.

I am constantly adding titles to my never-ending TBR list and I can’t wait to share them with people.

Check out my newest and most wanted additions (or editions?…see what I did there!)

Last Witness

Carys Jones

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 6.58.36 PM.png

Description:

The page-turning sequel to the best-selling psychological thriller Wrong Number. With her husband gone, and his legacy in her hands, Amanda Thorne is hell-bent on revenge.  Amanda Thorne is on a mission to avenge her husband. Restoring his honour and protecting his legacy will be dangerous, but she will not rest until all those who have hurt her loved-ones have been dealt with.   Her only option is to go undercover in the murky world of the gang kingpin McCallister. So, with her loyal companion Shane by her side, she heads back to Scotland to finish what they started.    McCallister’s world is one of seedy nightclubs, drug deals and beautiful women, but he is a hard man to get close to. As Amanda gets deeper and deeper into his dangerous world, what secrets from the past will come back to haunt her, and will she be able to protect the last witness to the truth?   A compelling, heart-stopping thriller which you won’t be able to put down…

If you remember, I loved Jones’ first novel in the series, Wrong Number.  I was a fan of the romance elements and how easy it was to get through.  The second book in the series, following Amanda Throne, was a no brainer to add to my TBR pile. 

 

The Escape

C.L Taylor

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 6.58.20 PM.png

Description:

“Look after your daughter’s things. And your daughter…”

When a stranger asks Jo Blackmore for a lift she says yes, then swiftly wishes she hadn’t. The stranger knows Jo’s name, she knows her husband Max and she’s got a glove belonging to Jo’s two year old daughter Elise.   What begins with a subtle threat swiftly turns into a nightmare as the police, social services and even Jo’s own husband turn against her. No one believes that Elise is in danger.

 I have been seeing this one revieved consistently over the last few weeks; all glowing reviews.  Since I have always been one to suffer from FOMO, I added this to my TBR and moved it to the top of my pile. 

 

 

The Trophy Taker

Sarah Flint

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 6.58.12 PM.png

Description:

He’s watching, waiting… and counting. The next gripping seriel killer read in the DC ‘Charlie’ Stafford series, from the bestselling author of Mummy’s Favourite. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons.   He keeps each floating in formaldehyde to stop them from rotting. Each finger denotes a victim, tortured and butchered, their heart ripped out and discarded, replaced instead by symbols of their treachery. He sits alone admiring his trophies weekly; each and everyone of them guilty in his eyes. And now more must pay.    But who or what links the victims?   DC ‘Charlie’ Stafford is already investigating a series of escalating racist attacks and it now seems she has a vicious serial killer on her patch. With no leads and time running out, the team at Lambeth are at near breaking point.   Something has to give… and all the while he’s watching, waiting… and counting.

Call me a sicko but this one had me after I found out about the trophies.  I am facinated by serial killer thrillers so this one was up my alley!  

Would any of these make your TBR lists?  Or maybe you have already read them!  I’d love to know!

8 thoughts on “Friday Finds #15: March 10, 2017

  1. Inge | The Belgian Reviewer says:

    I’m going to read The Trophy Taker. Same as you, I was convinced with the promise of killings where you don’t see the connection immediately but know there is one. Wrong Number was not entirely my thing so I’m going to skip this one although I’m still curious about the internet trope. I was promised a proof copy of The Escape but didn’t get it and the e-mail of my contact doesn’t work anymore so I guess I won’t be reading that one either. It does sound good though and I haven’t read any books by this author yet. Great additions!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

