Behind the Blog: Meet the Blogger Series- Kate from Bibliophile Book Club @BibliophileBC

Ever wonder about the person behind the blog?  I mentioned back in January (here) that I would be starting a Meet the Blogger series.  This series will feature some of my favourite bloggers as we go behind the scenes and have them answer the questions!

Next up is Kate from Bibliophile Book Club 

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 6.39.01 PM.png

If you like crime fiction and have never heard of Kate’s blog, you are seriously missing out!  Not only does she have the best recommendations, but she is also featuring awesome authors and guest posts.

Why did you decide to join the world of book blogging?
I decided to start blogging because I’m pretty sure I was boring people (my family for sure) with my constant raving about books. I figured that a place that could concentrate solely on books and reviews would make sense, and so Bibliophile Book Club was born! 

What have been your favourite and least favourite parts of being a book
blogger?
I’m going to get my least favourite bit out of the way first. 
Guilt. Specifically, blogger guilt. This rears its head quite often for me. When I say guilt, I mean guilt that I’m not reading fast enough to get to a specific review request. Guilt that I don’t share enough on social media. Guilt that I’m not posting enough! This guilt is all self-inflicted. There is no pressure, but I just feel like I could be doing more I guess…
Favourite parts are so much easier to write about! 
Firstly, becoming friends with my fellow #blogsquad members (Sarah, Joseph, Noelle, Kat and Shell), they make me laugh almost daily and totally get the book love! 

Being quoted is also one of the coolest things. It’s so strange to open a book and see my blog on there and part of my review used. It’s such a great feeling of accomplishment though. And validation.
 
One of my all time fave moments so far has to be flying to the UK last year to the Orenda Books launch of Blackout by Ragnar Jonasson in Goldsboro Books. I met lots of lovely people that night. To be honest though, my abiding memory is my speechlessness at meeting Ragnar. I’m an unapologetic fan, and I couldn’t talk.  He is just so lovely though! 

What have been your 3 favourite books to review since you started book
blogging?
Oh, this is a hard question! Can I cheat by mentioning a series?! Because if I can I’m totally going for Ragnar Jonasson’s Dark Iceland series. I LOVE them!
 
Nevernight by Jay Kristoff was also amazing. Such a surprising book, but one of the best books I read last year! 
I think I have to maybe say Ragdoll by Daniel Cole too! Not out just yet, but it was superb!!!

Have you always been a reader? If not, what got you into reading?
I have always been a reader. One of my earliest memories is having a headboard shelf completely covered in Enid Blyton’s books, which I would read under the covers with a torch at night when I should have been asleep. I’ve still not learned my lesson with reading in bed as it’s my quietest time of the day. 

Now the impossible question…what are some of your favourite books?
Ahhhhhhhh…… too many to list to be honest! But I’ll give it a go with a handful! 😊
Lee Child – every Jack Reacher book
Elizabeth Haynes – Into The Darkest Cornee
Chris Carter – Robert Hunter series
LJ Ross – DCI Ryan series
Michael Wood – DCI Matilda Darke series
Adam Hamdy- Pendulum
Daniel Cole – Ragdoll
Ragnar Jonasson – All of his books!
Be sure to follow Kate on her Social Media!
Twitter: @bibliophilebc
Instagram:  @bibliophilebookclub
Thanks so much Kate for taking time to answer my questions!
2 thoughts on “Behind the Blog: Meet the Blogger Series- Kate from Bibliophile Book Club @BibliophileBC

Leave a Reply

