Book Review: Everything but the Truth (Gillian McAllister) @GillianMAuthor @MichaelJBooks

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 6.14.58 PMRachel and Jack, following a whirlwind romance, are expecting their first child.   When Jack is sent in email in the middle of the night, Rachel thinks nothing of clicking off the notification. She trusts Jack; he has nothing to hide from her. Until she realizes that he does.

Everything but the Truth, the debut by Gillian McAllister, was a novel I had been eagerly anticipating. Full disclosure? I harassed people for this book. I shamelessly sent e-mail after e-mail, Twitter messages, Instagram messages, I was even seconds away from throwing in the towel on my Canadian citizenship and moving to England…and it was totally and completely worth it.

 I’d like to start by stating by saying that McAllister’s writing is undeniably brilliant. This narrative is the perfect blend of so many genres: mystery, contemporary drama and women’s fiction collide superbly creating a story that is addicting and has the reader consistently thinking “what if”.  This novel is not the type of thriller that has your heart racing and your body on edge. Instead, this novel gets right into your mind and wraps it’s narrative tightly in your synapses. Deliberate and ceaseless, McAllister’s plot builds and creates a taut and tantalizing tale of betrayal.

I could not get enough.

McAllsiter’s characters are so realistic and relatable; I could have been easily hearing this story from a friend. I found myself anxious and uncomfortable throughout my reading, imagining what I would do in such a scenario.   I loved how each character, especially Rachel, was developed. The back and forth narrative technique of past and present was one of my favourite features of the novel.

Overall, I applaud McAllister on her debut and cannot wait to see what she will come out with next! Everything but the Truth will appeal to all readers, not just crime fiction fans. I highly recommend this read.  This one is out today!

5/5 stars.

Many thanks to Gillian McAllister, who I shamelessly involved in my desire to receive this book…and her publisher…and her publicist….and everyone else who received my countless messages; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review.  Really.
7 thoughts on “Book Review: Everything but the Truth (Gillian McAllister) @GillianMAuthor @MichaelJBooks

  1. Diana says:

    wow. Good for you. I am glad that you were able to get the book and that it was worth it. I couldn’t get it on NetGalley but I will look out for it. It sounds like an interesting read. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

