Strong Female Protagonists: Happy International Women’s Day!

Screen Shot 2017-03-06 at 7.22.03 PM.png

In honour of International Women’s Day, I figured what better way to celebrate than with a round-up of all my favourite, strong female protagonists.

They are smart, strong and can stand their ground around any male character.   They are never the scapegoat and they would flat out knock you down if you got in their way.

 They just overall kick ass.

There are obviously TONS of them in literature but I am going to focus on the ones found in my favourite genre: mystery, thriller and suspense.

So without further ado, here is my round up!

Nancy Drew from the Nancy Drew novels

Screen Shot 2017-03-06 at 7.00.58 PM.png

She is essentially the OG for female protagonists as far as I am concerned. I wanted to be Nancy Drew. Take that Hardy Boys.

 

Harriet from Harriet the Spy

 Screen Shot 2017-03-06 at 7.23.36 PM.png

This book is the reason I carried around a notebook for the majority of my childhood. Harriet is precocious, enthusiastic and unapologetic.   She is certainly not the ruffle dress, sit down and take it type.

Kathy from Flowers in the Attic series

Screen Shot 2017-03-06 at 7.25.07 PM.png

Kathy, although messed up to the max, uses her feminine wiles to exact revenge on anyone who has ever wronged her. Arguably one of the least independent characters on my list, you cannot deny that Kathy is about as cutthroat as they come. Seducing her mother’s husband and slowly but surely ruining every bit of her new life? Not a problem for Kathy.

Lisa from Method 15/33

 screen-shot-2017-02-27-at-8-05-14-pm

I thought she was amazing; a pregnant sixteen year old girl who outsmarts kidnappers and uses every bit of her surroundings to her advantage? Genius!

Lori from Deep Down Dead

 screen-shot-2017-01-29-at-5-43-34-pm

There aren’t many characters that are tougher than Lori. Ferocious and daring, she can play with the big boys and will sacrifice everything to protect the ones that she loves. I cannot wait to see how her story will play out in upcoming novels.

Jane Rizzoli and Maura Isles from Rizzoli and Isles series

screen-shot-2016-09-22-at-10-28-15-pm

I am ride or die Tess Gerritsen; I have said it before and I’ll say it again and this is partially because of these characters. Smart and steady, they have no issues taking charge and let no one step in their way.

Who are your favourite female protagonists?

15 thoughts on “Strong Female Protagonists: Happy International Women’s Day!

  1. ichabod2014ic says:

    I used to think that I was the hero in our stories, but have come to the startling conclusion that I am the bungling sidekick, and Miss Persephone Plumtartt is the real protagonist of our adventures.

    ~Icky. :-/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. duskrider3740 says:

    I have to put Eve Dallas on this list. J.D. Robb’s heroine is a very strong woman, kicking major butt, and yet she still has a bit of a gooey center too. She’s my comfort read now, like Rizzoli and Isles seem to be yours.

    Early Anita Blake could be on this list, back when her bedroom didn’t have a revolving door and she became more about the politics of the paranormal world. Everything before Obsidian Butterfly, basically!

    I’d also add Celaena Sardothien/Aelin Galathynius from Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass series. Kick-ass with a vulnerable side, she’s definitely a good one to mention, especially since she’s also a queen trying to reclaim her stolen throne. Definitely worth a look at!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

