Friday Finds #14: March 3, 2017

 

screen-shot-2016-11-25-at-9-09-29-am

Friday Finds (a feature originated by Jenn at Books and A Beat) showcases the most interesting books that I have encountered during the last week and have added to my TBR wish list on Goodreads.

I am constantly adding titles to my never-ending TBR list and I can’t wait to share them with people.

Check out my newest and most wanted additions (or editions?…see what I did there!)

Black Water Lilies

Michel Bussi

 Screen Shot 2017-02-20 at 10.24.51 PM.png

Description:

Giverny, France. During the day, the town is the home of the famous artist Claude Monet and the gardens where he painted his Water Lilies. But once the tourists have gone, there is a darker side to the peaceful French village.
This is the story of thirteen days that begin with one murder and end with another. Jérôme Morval, a man whose passion for art was matched only by his passion for women, has been found dead in the stream that runs through the gardens. In his pocket is a postcard of Monet’s Water Lilies with the words: Eleven years old. Happy Birthday.
Entangled in the mystery are three women: a young painting prodigy, the seductive village schoolteacher, and an old widow who watches over the village from a mill by the stream. All three of them share a secret. But what do they know about the discovery of Jérôme Morval’s corpse? And what is the connection to the mysterious, rumored painting of Black Water Lilies?

I don’t know why I am so drawn to this one; maybe it’s the awesome cover?  I am also a fan of art history so I am intrigued about the Claude Monet storyline.  This one just seems different. 

Are You Sleeping?

Kathleen Barber

 Screen Shot 2017-02-20 at 10.24.45 PM.png

Description:

Serial meets Ruth Ware’s In A Dark, Dark Wood in this inventive and twisty psychological thriller about a mega-hit podcast that reopens a murder case—and threatens to unravel the carefully constructed life of the victim’s daughter.
The only thing more dangerous than a lie…is the truth.
Josie Buhrman has spent the last ten years trying to escape her family’s reputation and with good reason. After her father’s murder thirteen years prior, her mother ran away to join a cult and her twin sister Lanie, once Josie’s closest friend and confidant, betrayed her in an unimaginable way. Now, Josie has finally put down roots in New York, settling into domestic life with her partner Caleb, and that’s where she intends to stay.
The only problem is that she has lied to Caleb about every detail of her past—starting with her last name.
When investigative reporter Poppy Parnell sets off a media firestorm with a mega-hit podcast that reopens the long-closed case of Josie’s father’s murder, Josie’s world begins to unravel. Meanwhile, the unexpected death of Josie’s long-absent mother forces her to return to her Midwestern hometown where she must confront the demons from her past—and the lies on which she has staked her future.

Inventive and twisty?  Sign me up!  I was also intrigued after it said her mother joined a cult.  All in all, this sounds like it might shape up to be a pretty interesting read!   

 

We Are Unprepared

Meg Little

 Screen Shot 2017-02-20 at 10.24.37 PM.png

Description:

Ash and Pia’s move from Brooklyn to the bucolic hills of Vermont was supposed to be a fresh start—a picturesque farmhouse, mindful lifestyle, maybe even children. But just three months in, news breaks of a devastating superstorm expected in the coming months. Fear of the impending disaster divides their tight-knit rural town and exposes the chasms in Ash and Pia’s marriage. Ash seeks common ground with those who believe in working together for the common good. Pia teams up with “preppers” who want to go off the grid and war with the rest of the locals over whom to trust and how to protect themselves. Where Isole had once been a town of old farm families, yuppie transplants and beloved rednecks, they divide into paranoid preppers, religious fanatics and government tools

 I am always quite the sucker for an apocalyptic style thriller and this seems like one; I am all about religious fanatics and paranoia.

Well those are my top finds for the last week; do any of these seem like ones you will be adding to your TBR pile (or maybe one you have already read?).  Let me know!

16 thoughts on “Friday Finds #14: March 3, 2017

  1. Zuky @ BookBum says:

    I gave Black Water Lilies a try but I couldn’t get into it, then I read a review on Goodreads that hadn’t had its spoilers marked so the ending got ruined for me and I just gave up with it. I hope you enjoy it more than I did!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Renee says:

    Great minds think alike…I JUST picked up Black Water Lilies at the library yesterday! I love the art angle and I really enjoyed his style of writing in his first book, After the Crash which you’d also like if you haven’t read it. Now…I just need to find time to squeeze this one in😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

