Book Review: Everything You Want Me To Be (Mindy Mejia)

Screen Shot 2017-03-01 at 6.18.59 PM.pngHattie Hoffman, high school senior and aspiring actress, is found stabbed to death following the opening night of a play. This tragedy begins to rip her small town apart at the seams as local sheriff (and family friend of the Hoffman’s) Del Goodman, tries to find her killer. As Del works through the investigation, webs of lies begin to unravel and the true story of Hattie’s last moments comes to light.

Everything You Want Me To Be by Mindy Mejia was one of my most anticipated reads of 2017; I watched in sheer jealousy as every other book blogger on the planet read (and LOVED) this book. Needless to say, once I got my hands on a copy, I felt like I had won the book lottery. Now that I have sat down to read this one, I feel conflicted. Was this one entertaining? Yes, absolutely. Was it worth all the hype? I’m not so sure.

The novel is told through three different perspectives; Del Goodman, Hattie and a new English teacher (Mr Lund) with a crumbling marriage. This novel is very character driven, as each character slowly unravels the story surrounding Hattie’s death, the reader is strung along until her end is revealed.  I do have to say, I enjoyed the characters and I really loved how manipulative Hattie ended up being.   She truly was a dynamic character.

Although this novel had me hooked easily and kept me reading late into the night, I didn’t really find myself completely engrossed in it. It took me several days to read, which is very rare for me! I am known for my speed-reading. I felt like this one was fairly predictable and it wasn’t plot-heavy. I didn’t find myself shocked or in awe of how the story was woven.

Overall, I’d recommend this book and absolutely felt as if it was a book worth reading; unfortunately, this one didn’t live up to the hype for me. I would rate it a 3/5 stars.

12 thoughts on “Book Review: Everything You Want Me To Be (Mindy Mejia)

  1. SnazzyBooks says:

    I’m reading this at the moment (with a different title: “The last act of Hattie Hoffman’ which confused me a first!) and though I’m enjoying it, I’m not amazed by it – so far anyway. I guess I’ll see as the novel goes on but like you it’s taking me longer than usual to get through! Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ethan says:

    I really enjoyed this one, but I agree that it may not live up to the hype. The mystery ended up being pretty straight forward. To me, the development of the characters is what kept me engaged. I’m happy I read the book, but it wasn’t a life changing read haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Emma says:

    What is it they say about believing the hype? I am in a similar position at the moment reading a book everyone raved about when it came out and finding myself left just a little bit cold. Shame.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Clues and Reviews says:

      I feel like I need to read them in the midst of it all and then maybe I’d enjoy them more? I felt underwhelmed when I read Girl on the Train as well; I read it so long after release and had heard so much that it ended up falling a bit flat!

      Like

      • Emma says:

        I know what you mean. I tend to avoid them when they are first released but then they get built up in my head to something amazing. Which they rarely are. Saying that though I was so convinced The Girl on the Train would be rubbish I ended up really enjoying it!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

