Book Review: Method 15/33 (Shannon Kirk) @ShannonCKirk @oceanviewpub

Screen Shot 2017-02-27 at 8.05.14 PM.png

Method 15/33 by Shannon Kirk came highly recommended by my good friend Janel at Keeper of Pages. She kept insisting that this fast-paced, intense thriller would be the book to kick me out of the book slump I had been experiencing. She was right!

I read Method 15/33 easily within a couple of hours; at 226 pages, it was the perfect book to curl up with for an afternoon and become completely sucked in.

The novel follows a pregnant, sixteen-year-old girl, as a ring of human traffickers kidnap her and prepare to deliver her baby and sell it to the highest bidder.   She should feel helpless, alone and terrified. But she doesn’t. Instead, Lisa, a calculating, methodical and manipulative prodigy is eerily calm. She desires two things. To save her unborn son and to exact merciless revenge on the people who have taken her. This is not your regular, run of the mill abduction story.

Crazy right??!

I am a huge fan of strong female protagonists and Lisa is about as strong as they come. Cold and calculating, I remained in shock and awe of her throughout my reading! She quickly takes in her surroundings and bides her time until she can use her assets, from a piece of twine to a cup of water, to help save herself.  Some say she was too cold and unbelievable; I found the complete opposite to be true. I found her to be incredibly endearing and the truest example of the intensity of a mother’s instinct.

The novel is narrated in alternating perspectives between Lisa, in captivity, and the agents (led by Special Agent Roger Lu) who are working tirelessly to find pregnant teenage girls who have gone missing. Each narrative is developed and complex; I loved reading each equally.   Lisa’s narrative voice, although sixteen, did not feel young. I never felt like I was reading a YA novel, which was important to me.

If you want a thriller that will knock you off your feet, then look no further; Method 15/33 is your novel. I rated it a 5/5 stars.

 Thanks to Netgalley for a digital copy of this novel; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review.
6 thoughts on “Book Review: Method 15/33 (Shannon Kirk) @ShannonCKirk @oceanviewpub

Leave a Reply

