Book Review: Marked for Revenge (Emelie Schepp) @emelieschepp @HarlequinBooks

Screen Shot 2017-02-27 at 7.19.20 PM.png

When a Thai girl overdoses while smuggling drugs, all signs point to an elusive narcotics trail.   With a connection to Jana Berzelius, the mysterious prosecutor who has just started putting together bits of her past, she must work to kill the man responsible before he reveals who she really is …

Marked for Revenge, the second novel following prosecutor Jana Berzelius, by Emelie Schepp was a book I was eager to get my hands on. Having read (and enjoyed!) Schepp’s Marked For Life, I couldn’t wait to get more of Jana’s backstory. I was not disappointed. Schepp provides much more to the story in book two, of what I am assuming, will be a trilogy.

I, once again, loved the character development of Jana.   As she becomes more entrenched into discovering bits of her old lifestyle, her character became even more complex. In fact, Schepp seems to excel at developing complex characters. Even the secondary characters in this police procedural have story arcs that intertwine.   However, like I felt in the first novel, I found that there was way too much information involving the characters and I found it hard to get lost in the story.  I was too busy trying to figure out who everyone was and what everyone was doing to really lose myself in the plot.

I also found, on a technical note that the digital copy formatted strangely on my Kindle; this also disrupted my reading.  This is at no fault to the author, just making a note on where I feel I struggled!

Overall, I enjoyed the story as a follow-up but feel people would struggle to read it as a standalone. I would strongly encourage any reader to read the first book before attempting this one.   Overall, I gave this one a 3/5 stars.

Thanks to the author, the publisher and Netgalley for a digital copy of this novel; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review.
2 thoughts on “Book Review: Marked for Revenge (Emelie Schepp) @emelieschepp @HarlequinBooks

  1. Emma says:

    When the formatting on a book goes wrong it distracts me from reading too. Not that I see it too often, even with review copies. A shame you couldn’t get as lost in the book as you would have liked.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

