Book Review: Ink and Bone (Lisa Unger) @lisaunger @TouchstoneBooks

Screen Shot 2017-02-26 at 8.24.59 PM.png

So mistakes were made. This was my first Lisa Unger book. What have I been doing??!! You better believe this will be rectified immediately and I will be going back to read everything by this author.

My friend Chelsea, from The Suspense is Thrilling Me, recommended this book highly and she did not steer me wrong; if you didn’t guess already, I LOVED this book.

 Ink and Bone surrounds eccentric twenty-year-old Finley Montgomery. She is covered in tattoos, rides a motorcycle and feels like a social pariah. Finley is no ordinary girl; she has abilities.   Abilities that allow her to feel and see things that most cannot.   Not knowing what to do, Finley turns to her grandmother (and renowned psychic), Eloise, living in The Hollows. Eloise works with Jones Cooper, a detective, and soon Finley finds herself dragged into the investigation of a missing girl.

From the immediate pages, I found myself completely engrossed in the pages.   I love when a book can tie in paranormal elements without seeming far-fetched; Unger does this beautifully.   I didn’t ever feel as if this one was moving too far beyond the realm of suspense thriller.   In fact, I felt like this one added a component that most miss. What happens when desperation causes you to look a little unconventionally for answers?

Each character in this book is likeable, especially the young protagonist, Finley. I am hoping that this will be the start of a new series because I would LOVE more of this character. Smart, damaged and complex, she felt like a breath of fresh air on the pages.

If you are looking for a dark story, beautifully written and consuming, then look no further. I gave it a 4/5 stars.

 

16 thoughts on “Book Review: Ink and Bone (Lisa Unger) @lisaunger @TouchstoneBooks

Leave a Reply

