Friday Finds #13: February 24, 2017

screen-shot-2016-11-25-at-9-09-29-am

Friday Finds (a feature originated by Jenn at Books and A Beat) showcases the most interesting books that I have encountered during the last week and have added to my TBR wish list on Goodreads.

I am constantly adding titles to my never-ending TBR list and I can’t wait to share them with people.

Check out my newest and most wanted additions (or editions?…see what I did there!)

Every Last Lie

Mary Kubica

 Screen Shot 2017-02-20 at 10.23.43 PM.png

Description from Goodreads:

“The bad man, Daddy. The bad man is after us.” 

Clara Solberg’s world shatters when her husband and their four-year-old daughter are in a car crash, killing Nick while Maisie is remarkably unharmed. The crash is ruled an accident…until the coming days, when Maisie starts having night terrors that make Clara question what really happened on that fateful afternoon.   Tormented by grief and her obsession that Nick’s death was far more than just an accident, Clara is plunged into a desperate hunt for the truth. Who would have wanted Nick dead? And, more important, why? Clara will stop at nothing to find out—and the truth is only the beginning of this twisted tale of secrets and deceit.   Told in the alternating perspectives of Clara’s investigation and Nick’s last months leading up to the crash, master of suspense Mary Kubica weaves her most chilling thriller to date—one that explores the dark recesses of a mind plagued by grief and shows that some secrets might be better left buried.

I am obsessed with Mary Kubica; after reading all her other books, adding this one to my TBR pile was an absolute no brainer!  I can barely contain my excitement! 

The Good Widow

Liz Fenton

Screen Shot 2017-02-20 at 10.24.26 PM.png

Description from Goodreads:

Bestselling authors Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke make their suspense debut in this twisty, emotional thriller.
Elementary school teacher Jacqueline “Jacks” Morales’s marriage was far from perfect, but even in its ups and downs it was predictable, familiar. Or at least she thought it was…until two police officers showed up at her door with devastating news. Her husband of eight years, the one who should have been on a business trip to Kansas, had suffered a fatal car accident in Hawaii. And he wasn’t alone.
For Jacks, laying her husband to rest was hard. But it was even harder to think that his final moments belonged to another woman—one who had left behind her own grieving and bewildered fiancé. Nick, just as blindsided by the affair, wants answers. So he suggests that he and Jacks search for the truth together, retracing the doomed lovers’ last days in paradise.
Now, following the twisting path of that fateful road, Jacks is learning that nothing is ever as it seems. Not her marriage. Not her husband. And most certainly not his death…

 After seeing this one on a list my friend, Amy from Novel Gossip, made about her favourite books she had read this year, I knew I had to have it on my list!  

He Said/She Said

Erin Kelly

Screen Shot 2017-02-20 at 10.23.19 PM.png

Description from Goodreads:

Who do you believe?
In the hushed aftermath of a total eclipse, Laura witnesses a brutal attack.
She and her boyfriend Kit call the police, and in that moment, it is not only the victim’s life that is changed forever.
Fifteen years on, Laura and Kit live in fear.
And while Laura knows she was right to speak out, the events that follow have taught her that you can never see the whole picture: something – and someone – is always in the dark…

I’ve been seeing this one popping up all over the place!  It has a ton of hype surrounding it, so obviously, I need to jump on this bandwagon!  

 

Beside Myself

Ann Morgan

screen-shot-2017-02-20-at-10-22-59-pm

Description from Goodreads:

Beside Myself is a literary thriller about identical twins, Ellie and Helen, who swap places aged six. At first it is just a game, but then Ellie refuses to swap back. Forced into her new identity, Helen develops a host of behavioural problems, delinquency and chronic instability. With their lives diverging sharply, one twin headed for stardom and the other locked in a spiral of addiction and mental illness, how will the deception ever be uncovered? Exploring questions of identity, selfhood, and how other people’s expectations affect human behaviour, this novel is as gripping as it is psychologically complex. 

I had never heard of this one before but was intrigued when I read the synopsis of the book while on a spur of the moment trip to the bookstore; this one came home with me so I am hoping it was worth the buy! 

Have any of these made it to your TBR piles?  I’d love to hear your thoughts!

19 thoughts on “Friday Finds #13: February 24, 2017

  1. bookbumzuky says:

    I have a few Mary Kubica books at home but I haven’t got round to reading them yet. Funnily enough, I removed Beside Myself from my tbr list the other day just because I wasn’t sure if I was going to enjoy it, so I look forward to seeing your thoughts on it. That way, I might add it back on my tbr! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. mikaela says:

    Ooh, I have Beside Myself on my TBR! So excited for He Said/She Said! I’ve only read one Kubica book and didn’t like it; but haven’t yet read her two others! I found out that the author of The Couple Next Door is coming out with a new book in August that sounds absolutely amazing! Hopefully, I’ll like it better than The Couple Next Door!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Keeper of Pages says:

    I’m going to have to stop reading this post ‘cos every week, I’m adding books. He Said/She Said looks so good. As does Kubica’s book but I was so disappointed by The Good Girl, I don’t know about this one – maybe I’ll just wait for your review 😉

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

