Friday Finds #12: February 17, 2017

screen-shot-2016-11-25-at-9-09-29-amFriday Finds (a feature originated by Jenn at Books and A Beat) showcases the most interesting books that I have encountered during the last week and have added to my TBR wish list on Goodreads.

I am constantly adding titles to my never-ending TBR list and I can’t wait to share them with people.

Check out my newest and most wanted additions (or editions?…see what I did there!)

Perfectly Undone

Jaime Raintree

 Screen Shot 2017-02-17 at 9.32.14 AM.png

Description:

A stirring debut rife with intoxicating family secrets and dazzling insights into our most basic desires, Perfectly Undone offers an intimate, uncensored exploration of forgiveness and fidelity as a young doctor struggles with her sister’s death–and the role she played in it–while her own picture-perfect relationship and promising career unravel around her.

I’m not going to lie; it’s the cover that got me with this one!  I love it.  After reading the synopsis, I feel like it could end up being more of a dramatic thriller, but I am always up to read something new! 

 

 

The Cleaner

Elisabeth Herrmann

 Screen Shot 2017-02-17 at 9.31.58 AM.png

Description from Goodreads:

For fans of Child 44 and The Lives of Others, this gripping novel pits an unforgettable heroine against an unforgivable past.
Signs of an agonisingly slow death, pools of blood, hands desperately searching for a hold. Judith Kepler has seen it all.
She is a crime scene specialist. She turns crime scenes back into habitable spaces. She is a cleaner.
It is at the home of a woman who has been brutally murdered that she is suddenly confronted with her own past. The murder victim knew Judith’s secret: as a child she was sent to an orphanage under mysterious circumstances – parentage unknown. And the East German secret police were always there, in the background.
When Judith begins to ask questions, she becomes the target of some powerful enemies. And nothing will ever be the same again.

 I was intrigued that the lead was a crime scene specialist in this one; I am a huge fan of the Rizzoli and Isles series by Tess Gerritsen and this one gave me a little bit of that vibe! 

 The Legacy

Yrsa Sigurdardottir

Screen Shot 2017-02-17 at 9.30.56 AM.png

Description from Goodreads:

The murder was meant as a punishment – but what sin could justify the method?
The only person who might have answers is the victim’s seven-year-old daughter, found hiding in the room where her mother died. And she’s not talking.
Newly promoted, out of his depth, detective Huldar turns to Freyja and the Children’s House for their expertise with traumatised young people. Freyja, who distrusts the police in general and Huldar in particular, isn’t best pleased. But she’s determined to keep little Margret safe.
It may prove tricky. The killer is leaving them strange clues: warnings in text messages, sums scribbled on bits of paper, numbers broadcast on the radio. He’s telling a dark and secret story – but how can they crack the code? And if they do, will they be next?

This one had me after the first line in the synopsis! 

So those were my finds from the last week; would any of these make it your TBR lists?!

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Friday Finds #12: February 17, 2017

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s