#cjsreads2017: Blink (K.L Slater) @BOOKOUTURE @KIMLSLATER

Screen Shot 2017-02-16 at 8.57.32 AM.pngBookouture has been putting out some seriously mind-blowing thrillers lately, and #cjsreads decided to read Blink for one of our February choices.

We made an excellent choice!

In honour of Blink‘s book birthday (TODAY!) keep reading below for a synopsis of the book and our thought (SPOILER ALERT:  we all LOVED this book!).

Synopsis from Goodreads: 

What if the person you love most in the world was in terrible danger … because of you?

Three years ago, Toni’s five-year-old daughter Evie disappeared after leaving school. The police have never been able to find her. There were no witnesses, no CCTV, no trace.

But Toni believes her daughter is alive. And as she begins to silently piece together her memories, the full story of the past begins to reveal itself, and a devastating truth.

Toni’s mind is trapped in a world of silence, her only chance to save herself is to manage the impossible. She must find a way to make herself heard. She must find her daughter.

A compelling, gripping thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Behind Closed Doors and The Sister.

WHAT CHANDRA THOUGHT

Screen Shot 2017-02-14 at 7.18.07 PM.png

5/5

Toni’s husband died during a military assignment, so to make things easier to cope with, she moves to a town closer to her mother, with her daughter, Evie. She get a part time job and hopes that things will finally turn around for her and Evie. Things start to go awry as she starts to get dates and times wrong, a feeling of being watched. The more paranoid she gets, the more she keeps popping these sedatives that she has. It’s just to calm her down so she can focus, right? It’s ok that Evie sometimes can’t wake her up. Soon everything will be all better… she just needs to get through each day. But then Evie ends up missing on a day she’s late picking her up from school… and it’s all her fault.. isn’t it?

Bookouture is throwing out some amazing thrillers! This one is told mainly through Toni’s eyes but bounces back and forth with short stints through Evie and other character’s eyes as the book progresses. The author truly made me hate some of these characters. I swear I have a new frown line on my forehead after reading this book! I do love to hate on some characters though. And to take something as simple as a mother’s negligence to create an atmosphere of doom… *shiver*… you will definitely feel the twists in this one – I had to do a double take at one point because something I thought turned out to NOT be – way to go Slater, way..to..go! I am most definitely going to continue reading her work and am adding her first thriller to my TBR now.

Follow Chandra on Goodreads, Twitter, Instagram or her blog!

 

JESSICA’S THOUGHTS

Screen Shot 2017-02-14 at 7.18.46 PM.png

5/5I really enjoyed this book! I’ve always loved the thrillers that go back and forth from character perspectives as well as varying

I really enjoyed this book! I’ve always loved the thrillers that go back and forth from character perspectives as well as varying timelines. It’s a style of writing I’ve always enjoyed because it slowly starts to fill in the gaps and answering the questions you have as you go. We bounce to and from present day (in a hospital) and to three years earlier. In the past timeline, we follow the perspectives of Toni, Harriet Watson, Evie, and Diary Entries from an unknown character.

The book begins at a hospital. She is in a vegetative state and the doctors believe that is no longer alive (even though she is desperately trying to communicate with them). All that we know is that there was an accident and that Evie is missing. Throughout the book we are brought through flashbacks from different perspectives to try and figure out what happened. Without giving away any spoilers, this book kept me guessing until the very end. I loved it!

If you like thrillers with twists, turns, and constant guessing then I highly recommend this book to you.

Follow Jessica on Goodreads or Instagram

MY THOUGHTS

Screen Shot 2017-02-14 at 7.19.11 PM.png

I don’t even know where to start with this book.

I want to take it and scream from the rooftops.  I want to make everyone I know read a copy.  I want knock on doors and leave this book in mailboxes.

If you can’t tell, I LOVED Blink by K.L Slater.

Enthralling, fast-paced and dark, Blink provided all the elements I need to be sucked completely in a book.  I read this one into the night, I left the book open on my bed so I could try and absorb more as I slept.

The novels I end up loving the most have alternating narrators whose plots blend together effortlessly:  Blink does exactly that.   The novel opens with a woman narrating in a coma.  She is unable to move but can hear and process everything.  People are discussing turning her ventilator off.   She cannot tell them she is there. All she can do is relive, over and over, when Evie went missing.   Flash back three years; Toni is raising her daughter Evie alone, after her husband died in active duty in Afghanistan.  Coping with pills, Toni is doing the best she can to piece her life back together.  A teacher’s aide, Harriet, narrates sections as she manipulates little Evie.  All of these seemingly unrelated tales collide with a bang, and when they do, hold on to your seats!

Nothing is what it seems in Blink; if you want a hair-raising thriller, then look no further.  Blink is a must read.  5/5 stars.

Follow Me on InstagramTwitter, and Goodreads.

Thanks to the publisher, the author and Netgalley for our digital copies of this book; it was our pleasure to provide an honest review.

 

 

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “#cjsreads2017: Blink (K.L Slater) @BOOKOUTURE @KIMLSLATER

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s