Friday Finds #7: January 6, 2017

screen-shot-2016-11-25-at-9-09-29-am

My first Friday Finds post (a feature originated from Jenn at Books and A Beat) of 2017! This feature showcases the most interesting books that I have encountered during the last week and have added to my TBR wish list on Goodreads.

I am constantly adding titles to my never-ending TBR list and I can’t wait to share them with people.

Check out my newest and most wanted additions (or editions?…see what I did there!)

Normal

Graeme Cameron

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 1.07.34 PM.png

Description from Goodreads:

“The truth is I hurt people. It’s what I do. It’s all I do. It’s all I’ve ever done.” 
He lives in your community, in a nice house with a well-tended garden. He shops in your grocery store, bumping shoulders with you and apologizing with a smile. He drives beside you on the highway, politely waving you into the lane ahead of him.
What you don’t know is that he has an elaborate cage built into a secret basement under his garage. And the food that he’s carefully shopping for is to feed a young woman he’s holding there against her will—one in a string of many, unaware of the fate that awaits her.
This is how it’s been for a long time. It’s normal… and it works. Perfectly.
Then he meets the checkout girl from the 24-hour grocery. And now the plan, the hunts, the room… the others. He doesn’t need any of them anymore. He needs only her. But just as he decides to go straight, the police start to close in. He might be able to cover his tracks, except for one small problem—he still has someone trapped in his garage.
Discovering his humanity couldn’t have come at a worse time.

I cannot help that I am a sucker for a nice serial killer read; I love the concept of this one.  Serial killer turns nice guy?  Impossible.  I bet it’s filled with lots of twists. 

Never Out of Sight

Louise Stone

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 1.08.10 PM.png

Description from Goodreads:

A gripping psychological thriller from Louise Stone, author of “S is for Stranger”.  A daughter’s secret. A mother’s betrayal.
Every mother knows never to let their child out of their sight. But Freya has been distracted recently, and now her teenage daughter, Zoe, is missing.
Freya knows that the only way to bring Zoe back is to tell the truth, but when your whole life is built on secrets and lies, the truth could destroy everything.
Surely there’s no harm in telling just one more little white lie?

Loved the synopsis.  I’m sold! 

Eyes Like Mine

Sheena Kamal

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 1.09.27 PM.png

Description from Goodreads:

It’s late. The phone rings.
The man on the other end says his daughter is missing.
Your daughter.
The baby you gave away over fifteen years ago.
What do you do? 

Nora Watts isn’t sure that she wants to get involved. Troubled, messed up, and with more than enough problems of her own, Nora doesn’t want to revisit the past. But then she sees the photograph. A girl, a teenager, with her eyes. How can she turn her back on her? 
But going in search of her daughter brings Nora into contact with a past that she would rather forget, a past that she has worked hard to put behind her, but which is always there, waiting for her . . . 
In Eyes Like Mine, Sheena Kamal has created a kick-ass protagonist who will give Lisbeth Salander a run for her money. Intuitive, not always likeable, and deeply flawed, Nora Watts is a new heroine for our time.  

 For starters, Sheena Kamal is Canadian.  I am all about reading authors from fellow Canadian folk.  I saw this one in a magazine a couple months back and knew I had to read it but I couldn’t find it on Goodreads.  I took a picture of the page on my phone and went on my merry way; I was so surprised (and happy) when I stumbled upon it on Goodreads this past week!  I love kick-ass protagonists and secret pasts.  This one sounds awesome. 

The Child

Fiona Barton

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 1.09.39 PM.png

Description from Goodreads:

As an old house is demolished in a gentrifying section of London, a workman discovers a tiny skeleton, buried for years. For journalist Kate Waters, it’s a story that deserves attention. She cobbles together a piece for her newspaper, but at a loss for answers, she can only pose a question: Who is the Building Site Baby?
As Kate investigates, she unearths connections to a crime that rocked the city decades earlier: A newborn baby was stolen from the maternity ward in a local hospital and was never found. Her heartbroken parents were left devastated by the loss.
But there is more to the story, and Kate is drawn—house by house—into the pasts of the people who once lived in this neighborhood that has given up its greatest mystery. And she soon finds herself the keeper of unexpected secrets that erupt in the lives of three women—and torn between what she can and cannot tell… 

Fiona Barton’s previous (and debut) novel, The Widow, was one of the smash hits of 2016.  Although The Widow was not my favourite read (I think I read it after I heard too much hype), it was certainly well written so I cannot wait to see her follow up.  I have heard some awesome early buzz, so obviously, this one went on my list!

Well there ya have it.  My finds for the week!  Any of these on your TBR lists (or have I inspired you to add any of them now!)?  I’d love to hear! 

7 thoughts on “Friday Finds #7: January 6, 2017

  1. mikaela says:

    Ooh, I loved Fiona Barton’s The Widow, so I’m excited for her second book! I have Louise Stone’s other book, so I should probably read that, even though her other one sounds good. 🙈 I have Normal on my TBR!

    Like

Leave a Reply

