Friday Finds #6: December 30, 2016

screen-shot-2016-11-25-at-9-09-29-am

I can’t believe this will be my final Friday Finds in 2016! Where did the time go?

Friday Finds (a feature originated from Jenn at Books and A Beat) showcases the most interesting books that I have encountered during the last week and have added to my TBR wish list on Goodreads.

I am constantly adding titles to my never-ending TBR list and I can’t wait to share them with people.

Check out my newest and most wanted additions (or editions?…see what I did there!)

Fourth Monkey

J.D Barker

Screen Shot 2016-12-30 at 7.21.49 AM.png

 Description from Goodreads:

Se7en meets The Silence of the Lambs in this dark and twisting novel from the author Jeffery Deaver called, “A talented writer with a delightfully devious mind.”

For over five years, the Four Monkey Killer has terrorized the residents of Chicago. When his body is found, the police quickly realize he was on his way to deliver one final message, one which proves he has taken another victim who may still be alive.

As the lead investigator on the 4MK task force, Detective Sam Porter knows even in death, the killer is far from finished. When he discovers a personal diary in the jacket pocket of the body, Porter finds himself caught up in the mind of a psychopath, unraveling a twisted history in hopes of finding one last girl, all while struggling with personal demons of his own.

With only a handful of clues, the elusive killer’s identity remains a mystery. Time is running out and the Four Monkey Killer taunts from beyond the grave in this masterfully written fast-paced thriller. 

 Se7en meets Silence of the Lambs?! I’m done! I need it in my life.  

 

Dear Amy

Helen Callaghan

Screen Shot 2016-12-30 at 7.22.24 AM.png

Description from Goodreads:

First Class Psychological Suspense From a Major New Voice in Fiction

Margot Lewis is the agony aunt for The Cambridge Examiner. Her advice column, Dear Amy, gets all kinds of letters – but none like the one she’s just received: Dear Amy,
I don’t know where I am. I’ve been kidnapped and am being held prisoner by a strange man. I’m afraid he’ll kill me.
Please help me soon,
Bethan Avery

Bethan Avery has been missing for years. This is surely some cruel hoax. But, as more letters arrive, they contain information that was never made public. How is this happening? Answering this question will cost Margot everything . ..

 I love a great psychological suspense and this one sounds intense!  What an awesome concept. 

The Marsh King’s Daughter

Karen Dionne

Screen Shot 2016-12-30 at 7.22.01 AM.png

Description from Goodreads:

The suspense thriller of the year – The Marsh King’s Daughter will captivate you from the start and chill you to the bone.

‘I was born two years into my mother’s captivity. She was three weeks shy of seventeen. If I had known then what I do now, things would have been a lot different. I wouldn’t have adored my father.’

When notorious child abductor – known as the Marsh King – escapes from a maximum security prison, Helena immediately suspects that she and her two young daughters are in danger.

No one, not even her husband, knows the truth about Helena’s past: they don’t know that she was born into captivity, that she had no contact with the outside world before the age of twelve – or that her father raised her to be a killer.

And they don’t know that the Marsh King can survive and hunt in the wilderness better than anyone… except, perhaps his own daughter.

Packed with gripping suspense and powerful storytelling, The Marsh King’s Daughter is a one-more-page, read-in-one-sitting thriller that you’ll remember forever.

 Anything that claims to be a read in one sitting thriller, or the thriller of the year,  is something that I make time for!  I cannot wait for this one to be released!! 

 

The Many

Nathan Field

Screen Shot 2016-12-30 at 7.22.14 AM.png

 Description from Goodreads:

Karl notices something odd about his sister the morning after a blind date. A coldness in her manner; nothing anyone else would notice. Suspicious, he confronts her about the date but she turns nasty, accusing him of taking a perverse interest in her sex life. 

When he next sees her, months later, she seems back to normal, until a harmless comment provokes a sudden, violent response. As her mental state fluctuates, Karl seeks out the man she dated just before her personality began to change, convinced she is suppressing a painful memory from that night. But what he discovers is something far more sinister, and pervasive, than he’d ever imagined.

Strictly for adult readers, THE MANY is the first book of a trilogy that explores the dark side of the world we live in, and sheds light on a shadowy evil that is both disturbing and eerily familiar.

WHAT HAPPENED ON THIS DATE?!  The synopsis of this one is killing me!  

Well, there ya have it, my finds for the week; have you gotten a chance to read any of these?  Let me know!

10 thoughts on “Friday Finds #6: December 30, 2016

Leave a Reply

