Book Tag: The Secret Life of A Book Blogger

screen-shot-2016-11-24-at-6-51-29-amI love to do book tags; it’s such a nice way to get to know other book bloggers (and for people to get to know me!).

I have seen this book tag floating around the blogosphere forever, so, I finally decided I would bring this one to my own blog!

Here we go!

How long have you been blogging/been a blogger?

I started Clues and Reviews at the end of August 2016, but I didn’t start posting regularly until the end of September.  I was embarrassed and unsure of what to do, or how to promote myself so I would publish a post and then back off for a few weeks trying to regain my confidence.   Janel from Keeper of Pages was the first blogger in the community to reached out to me and started helping me navigate this book blogging world.  It is still strange to me that I have only been doing this for a few months; it feels like it is measured in dog years!  I have learned so much and made so many awesome friends through this blog!

At what point do you think you’ll stop blogging?

I’d like to say I never will; I think I am lucky enough that I had my love of reading long before I started this blog and it will continue; perhaps as time goes on, I may post less frequently, but I love being able to use this outlet to connect with people and talk about the things I love the most- books!

What is the best thing about blogging?

Getting to connect with other bloggers.  Long before I started my own blog, I followed book blogs and admired them; they were kind of like celebrities to me!  So, being able to talk to them, I still fan girl a little bit sometimes!  Also, having authors and publishers tweet at me on Twitter (you can follow me here) is pretty awesome.

What is the worst thing?  What do you do to make it okay?

I don’t really feel like there are many bad things about blogging; I think maybe the worst thing is finding yourself under pressure.  Pressure to have more follower, pressure to review the newest and most popular reads.  Pressure to consistently post reviews. I am a natural over-achiever and want to excel at everything I do, so naturally, sometimes I find myself wrapped up in that pressure.  That’s when I message some of my book blogging friends and they help to keep me in check.  It is important that I make sure that reading and blogging always stays fun, and never becomes a chore!

How long does it take you to make/find pictures to use?

About 30 seconds!  I always have a book with me or am reading a book, so all my pictures are usually taken while I am at work on my lunch break!  Sometimes, if I am ambitious, I may take some pictures and try and take several over the weekend, but I am always changing my TBR list so it doesn’t actually help me!   All the graphics on my blog, like my logo, are made by my brother, who is a professional graphic designer- so that certainly helps me!

Who is your book crush?

Laurie from Little Women has been my book crush since I was little, further pushed by the movie version where he is played by Christian Bale.

What author would you like to have on your blog?

There are so many authors I admire that I would LOVE to have on my blog; it’s hard to even narrow it down.  Ania Ahlborn, Jodi Picoult, Tess Gerritsen, Hollie Overton, Peter Swanson, Ezekiel Boone, Mary Kubica, Josh Malerman…should I go on?

What do you wear when you write your blog posts?

I am usually in my pajamas!  I usually publish my posts early in the morning and write them in the evening.  I know that a lot of my followers are from the U.K (and other parts of the world!) so I wake up extra early to try and make up for the time difference.  I don’t know if it truly helps, but I like to think it does!

How long does it take you to prepare?

Actually not too long, I take notes while I am reading so that I capture how I am feeling while I read my books.  Then, I take those thoughts and try to form them into sentences and finally I put the flourish in.  It takes much longer to write my Instagram reviews because they need to be more concise.  In total, I probably take about an hour collectively to write each post and share it with my social media.

How do you feel about the book blogging community?

I am still fairly new to the whole community but, so far, I have been met with so much positivity and support.  I have made so many friends through my blog and social media accounts- and the best part, they all want to talk about books!

What do you think one should do to get a successful blog?

If someone figures out the answer to this question, please tell me because I would love to know the answer!  If I had to take a crack at it, I would say that helping others is the best way to help yourself.  By sharing others posts and taking part in the discussions on their posts is the best way to connect with people in the community and get your own blog out there (plus, it’s fun!)

Well, there ya have it!  I tag whoever would like to complete this tag; be sure to let me know if you decide to complete it because I’d love to learn more about all of you!!

 

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “Book Tag: The Secret Life of A Book Blogger

  1. Diana says:

    Is it early morning or late evening when you posted this one? Its 2:30pm here. I am always curious about time zones 🙂

    Great post. You are doing so well in such a short time and I am glad to have found your blog. I get what you mean about the pressure though. It does take away the joy of reading and blogging but nice to see that you have a way of remaining focused. All the best with the blog. Happy reading and enjoy the holidays 🙂

    Like

  2. Renee says:

    I haven’t come across this tag before but I really like it! I agree that the blogging community has been so welcoming. I’m really enjoying your blog and Instagram, so glad we connected in the blogosphere:)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Books, Vertigo and Tea says:

    Aside from all of the answers you gave that I love, I stop at the fact that you are a fan of Ania Alhborn’s! I absolutely love her work 🙂 And she is such a great presence to encounter on social media. I discovered Seed when she still lived here in Portland and was hooked 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. thirdwit says:

    I’ve been (not creepily) stalking your Instagram lately, and I’m glad that I decided to create a book blog, so I could finally keep up with your blog posts as well! I should bookmark this tag for later so I can do it mid-book blog year! XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

