Friday Finds #3: December 9, 2016

screen-shot-2016-11-25-at-9-09-29-amSo I’ve decided to take up a weekly feature on Clues and Reviews.  So fun!

I saw this awesome feature on It’s All About Books.  Apparently, it originated from Jenn at Books and A Beat.   One of my blogging buddies, Renee at It’s Book Talk also participates.  I loved the idea of this one; this feature showcases the most interesting books that I have encountered during the last week and have added to my TBR wish list on Goodreads.

I am constantly adding titles to my never-ending TBR list and I can’t wait to share them with people.

Check out my newest and most wanted additions (or editions?…see what I did there!)

Good Girl Bad Girl

by Ann Girdharry

Screen Shot 2016-12-07 at 8.51.44 AM.png

 Description from Goodreads:

Kal’s got guts, but has she got what it takes?

When her journalist mother goes missing, Kal investigates. 

Kal’s no fool, though sometimes she might pretend to be, because hiding her strengths is a great way to extract information. 
An expert in psychology and skilled in reading other people and their behaviours, she first learnt her craft from her deceased father. He was a man with dark secrets.

A shadow’s been stalking her family for three generations. Kal will uncover a child trafficking network and to find her mother, she must face her deepest suspicions and a horror she’s been avoiding all her life…

A psychological suspense thriller set in London and Kolkata, India. Good Girl Bad Girl is the first in the Kal Medi series.

I have been hearing a lot about this book lately and it has all be great things!  I just recently read  The Girl Before by Rena Olsen (if you want to check out my review for that you can here) and I loved it!  That one discussed human trafficking, so as soon as I saw this one had trafficking in it, I knew I had to add it to my list.  I love seeing how authors handle just a complex and sensitive topic. 

 

 Devil In The Grass

Christoper Bowron

Screen Shot 2016-12-07 at 8.52.27 AM.png

 Description from Goodreads:

“Would you sell your soul to the Devil… even halfheartedly?”

Jackson walker must rely upon his wits and Seminole family to clear himself after being framed in a dastardly double murder. He must overcome alligators, bull sharks, a Satanic Cult as well as a family of cleaners, specializing in making dead bodies disappear. The Everglades provides an ancient and frightening setting for the unfolding action that will prove whether Jackson Walker will pull himself free from the dark evil that lurks there.

 I have been loving horror novels lately, so, as soon as I saw this on in a Goodreads giveaway, I added it to my list!  

 

Nyctophobia

Christopher Fowler

Screen Shot 2016-12-07 at 8.53.17 AM.png

Description from Goodreads:

An original thriller from bestselling author Christopher Fowler that reinventing the haunted house story.

There are two things you need to know about haunted houses. One, there’s never been an actual authenticated haunted house. Two, it’s not the house that’s haunted, but the person. 

Callie is a young architectural student who marries Mateo, a wine importer, and moves to a grand old house in Southern Spain. Hyperion House is flooded with light, it also has a mute gardener, a sinister housekeeper and a sealed, dark servants’ quarters that nobody has the keys for. And although initially happy, and taking care of Mateo’s daughter, Callie can’t help being drawn to the dark empty rooms at the back of the house, and becomes convinced that someone is living in there. 

Uncovering the house’s history, she discovers the shocking truth. As Callie’s fear of the darkness returns, she comes to understand the true nature of evil.

This one came recommended by a new friend of mine from Penguin Random House!  We have a similar taste in books so I cannot wait to see how this one is; I had never heard of this book but I haven’t really come across a great haunted house story that has been able to keep my interest! So I am very excited get a copy of this one and see what I think. 

 Little Sister

Isobel Ashdown

Screen Shot 2016-12-07 at 8.54.27 AM.png

Description from Goodreads:

If you can’t trust your sister, then who can you trust? A gripping, twisty thriller about family secrets and betrayal for fans of CJ Taylor, Katerina Diamond and Lisa Hall

‘A missing baby girl, a marriage ravaged by mistrust, a sibling rivalry with a very dark heart: LITTLE SISTER had me gripped from start to finish.’ Louise Candlish, author of THE SWIMMING POOL

After sixteen years apart sisters Jessica and Emily are reunited. With the past now behind them, the warmth they once shared quickly returns and before long Jess has moved into Emily’s comfortable island home. Life couldn’t be better. But when baby Daisy disappears while in Jess’s care, the perfect life Emily has so carefully built starts to fall apart.

Was Emily right to trust her sister after everything that happened before? 

 I have been seeing this one all over my social media (mainly Twitter) and it seems like this would be exactly the type of book I would be into!   I love a book with twisty family secrets.

Well, there ya have it, folks!

What books did you did you add to your TBR this week?  Anything I should be checking out?!

 

5 thoughts on “Friday Finds #3: December 9, 2016

  1. Renee says:

    Ohh, all books I’ve never heard of!! Thanks for the shout out to my blog, much appreciated:) I was able to grab The Girl Before from the library, now just need to get to reading it! Happy Friday and have a great weekend

    Like

Leave a Reply

