Friday Finds #2: December 2, 2016

screen-shot-2016-11-25-at-9-09-29-amSo I’ve decided to take up a weekly feature on Clues and Reviews.  So fun!  Last week was my first week and I loved seeing everyone’s recommendations and what they thought!

I saw this awesome feature on It’s All About Books.  Apparently, it originated from Jenn at Books and A Beat.   One of my blogging buddies, Renee at It’s Book Talk also participates.  I loved the idea of this one; this feature showcases the most interesting books that I have encountered during the last week and have added to my TBR wish list on Goodreads.

I am constantly adding titles to my never-ending TBR list and I can’t wait to share them with people.

Check out my newest and most wanted additions (or editions?…see what I did there!)

The Book of Mirrors  by E.O Chirovici

(January 2017)

Screen Shot 2016-12-02 at 5.46.05 AM.png

 Description from Goodreads:

ONE MAN’S TRUTH IS ANOTHER MAN’S LIE.

When big-shot literary agent Peter Katz receives an unfinished manuscript entitled The Book of Mirrors, he is intrigued.
The author, Richard Flynn is writing a memoir about his time at Princeton in the late 80s, documenting his relationship with the famous Professor Joseph Wieder.  One night in 1987, Wieder was brutally murdered in his home and the case was never solved.
Peter Katz is hell-bent on getting to the bottom of what happened that night twenty-five years ago and is convinced the full manuscript will reveal who committed the violent crime.
But other people’s recollections are dangerous weapons to play with, and this might be one memory that is best kept buried.

I have been seeing this one all over the place and from what I have been hearing, it’s one of those “story within a story” books!  This narrative style is something I am intrigued by.  I’m looking forward to the publication date of this one, especially since it’s been getting a lot of hype.  I am a sucker for hype.

 

The Passenger by Lisa Lutz

Screen Shot 2016-12-02 at 5.48.14 AM.png

 Description from Goodreads:

From the author of the New York Times bestselling Spellman Files series, Lisa Lutz’s latest blistering thriller is about a woman who creates and sheds new identities as she crisscrosses the country to escape her past: you’ll want to buckle up for the ride!

In case you were wondering, I didn’t do it. I didn’t have anything to do with Frank’s death. I don’t have an alibi, so you’ll have to take my word for it…

Forty-eight hours after leaving her husband’s body at the base of the stairs, Tanya Dubois cashes in her credit cards, dyes her hair brown, demands a new name from a shadowy voice over the phone, and flees town. It’s not the first time.
She meets Blue, a female bartender who recognizes the hunted look in a fugitive’s eyes and offers her a place to stay. With dwindling choices, Tanya-now-Amelia accepts. An uneasy―and dangerous―alliance is born.
It’s almost impossible to live off the grid today, but Amelia-now-Debra and Blue have the courage, the ingenuity, and the desperation, to try. Hopscotching from city to city, Debra especially is chased by a very dark secret…can she outrun her past?
With heart-stopping escapes and devious deceptions, The Passenger is an amazing psychological thriller about defining yourself while you pursue your path to survival. One thing is certain: the ride will leave you breathless.

YES!  YES!  YES!  I don’t know how I just stumbled across this one the other day, but it seems like the exact type of novel that I would enjoy tremendously!  I cannot wait to pick this one up! 

 

Long Way Home

Eva Dolan

 Screen Shot 2016-12-02 at 5.50.53 AM.png

Description from Goodreads:
The launch of a major new detective series from the publishers of Henning Mankell, Arnaldur
Indridason and Fred Vargas

A man is burnt alive in a suburban garden shed.

DI Zigic and DS Ferreira are called in from the Peterborough Hate Crimes Unit to investigate the murder. Their victim is quickly identified as a migrant worker and a man several people might have had good reason to see dead. A convicted arsonist and member of a far-right movement has just been released from prison, while witnesses claim to have seen the dead man fighting with one of the town’s most prominent slum landlords.
Zigic and Ferreira know all too well the problems that come with dealing with a community that has more reason than most not to trust the police, but when another migrant worker is attacked, tensions rapidly begin to rise as they search for their killer. 

 As soon as I saw “a man is burnt alive in a suburban garden shed”, I knew I had to read this book.  I have been reading more and more police procedurals lately and I have started to enjoy them!  This one is the start to a new series, which I also love; then I don’t need to play catch up.

The Step Mother

Claire Seeber

screen-shot-2016-12-02-at-5-55-35-am

Description from Goodreads:

The perfect wife. A fairy-tale family. Don’t believe your eyes…
Jeanie and Matthew are a happily married couple who both have teenage children from previous relationships.
No one said it would be easy to raise a blended family under one roof but Jeanie and Matthew are strong. They will make it work.
And whilst Jeanie’s step-daughter Scarlett rejects her, Jeanie will just have to try harder to win her over.
But Jeanie has a past. A terrible secret she thought she’d buried a long time ago. And now, it’s coming to the surface, threatening to destroy her new marriage.
Someone is playing a terrifying game on Jeanie and she must put a stop to it once and for all.
After all, a fairytale needs a happy ending … doesn’t it?
A compelling, dark and twisty psychological thriller that will grip fans of Behind Closed Doors, Between You and Me and The Teacher.

This book is a dark and twisty psychological thriller and made no mention of  Gone Girl or The Girl on the Train!  It’s already original in my book! I’ve been wanting to read The Teacher for awhile, so to see that one as a comparison intrigued me.

So there ya have it! My finds for this week!  Have you read any of these books?  Are any of them on your TBR lists!  I’d love to hear.

21 thoughts on “Friday Finds #2: December 2, 2016

  1. Renee says:

    I also have the Book of Mirrors waiting on my Netgalley shelf, I’m looking forward to that one for sure. I picked up The Passenger a long time ago but couldn’t get into it so I’ll be curious to hear what you think. Maybe I gave up too soon on it. Happy Reading and thanks for the shoutout to my blog:)!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

