Friday Finds #1: November 25, 2016

screen-shot-2016-11-25-at-9-09-29-am

So I’ve decided to take up a weekly feature on Clues and Reviews.  So fun!

I saw this awesome feature on It’s All About Books.  Apparently, it originated from Jenn at Books and A Beat.   One of my blogging buddies, Renee at It’s Book Talk also participates.  I loved the idea of this one; this feature showcases the most interesting books that I have encountered during the last week and have added to my TBR wish list on Goodreads.

I am constantly adding titles to my never-ending TBR list and I can’t wait to share them with people.

Check out my newest and most wanted additions (or editions?…see what I did there!)

Everything by the Truth

Gillian McAllister

Publisher: Penguin (March 2017)

screen-shot-2016-11-25-at-8-48-15-am

Description from Goodreads:

It all started with the email.

It came through to her boyfriend’s iPad in the middle of the night. Rachel didn’t even mean to look. She loves Jack, and she’s pregnant with their child. She trusts him. But now she’s seen it, she can’t undo that moment, or the chain of events it has set in motion.

Why has Jack been lying about his past? Just what exactly is he hiding? And doesn’t Rachel have a right to know the truth at any cost?

WHAT! I love me a nice domestic thriller so, as soon as I saw this one, I knew it needed to be added to my TBR pile!! I’ve been desperately trying to hunt down an advanced copy for the past week!  I can barely stand the anticipation.  It’s this author’s debut novel so I’ll be curious to see her approach.

Dark Water

Sara Bailey

Publisher: Nightingale Editions

Screen Shot 2016-11-25 at 8.51.56 AM.png

Description from Goodreads:

Friendship doesn’t die, it waits…

A haunting and lyrical novel, Dark Water is a psychologically intense portrait of adolescent yearning and obsession.

When Helena returns to her childhood home in Orkney, she is forced to face memories that she has spent half a lifetime running from. Her best friend, the charismatic Anastasia, disappeared after a swimming incident. But what really happened that night by the wrecks?

 

I love psychological thrillers so when I saw this one floating around my bookstagram feed, I added it immediately to my TBR list!  I was lucky enough to be sent a copy this week from the publisher so I’ll be reading this one in early December!  Stay tuned!

Saving Sophie

Sam Carrington

Publisher: Avon Publishing

Screen Shot 2016-11-25 at 8.53.52 AM.png

Description from Goodreads:

A teenage girl is missing. Is your daughter involved, or is she next?

Your daughter is in danger. But can you trust her?

When Karen Finch’s seventeen-year-old daughter Sophie arrives home after a night out, drunk and accompanied by police officers, no one is smiling the morning after. But Sophie remembers nothing about how she got into such a state.   Twelve hours later, Sophie’s friend Amy has still not returned home. Then the body of a young woman is found.   Karen is sure that Sophie knows more than she is letting on. But Karen has her own demons to fight. She struggles to go beyond her own door without a panic attack.  As she becomes convinced that Sophie is not only involved but also in danger, Karen must confront her own anxieties to stop whoever killed one young girl moving on to another – Sophie.  A taut psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and I Let You Go

I am always weary of books marketed to be for fans of GOTT or Gone Girl, but I loved the idea of this novel.    I have been really into novels this year with “the mother” as the central character, like Good as Gone by Amy Gentry or Only Daughter by Anna Snoekstra (you can check out my reviews for those two books here and here).  This book seems to be similar to that.  This one comes out in Canada in late January!

The Beautiful Dead

Belinda Bauer

Publisher:  Atlantic Grove

Screen Shot 2016-11-25 at 9.01.06 AM.png

Description from Goodreads:

There’s no safety in numbers . . . 

Eve Singer needs death. With her career as a TV crime reporter flagging, she’ll do anything to satisfy her ghoulish audience.The killer needs death too. He even advertises his macabre public performances, where he hopes to show the whole world the beauty of dying.When he contacts Eve, she welcomes the chance to be first with the news from every gory scene. Until she realizes that the killer has two obsessions.

One is public murder.

And the other one is her 

I cannot even handle the description for this book!  Another one that I have been seeing all over the bookstagram community.  It’s getting fantastic reviews- so naturally, to the top of my wishlist it went!

And that wraps up my picks for this week!

Any of these books in your wishlist on Goodreads?

16 thoughts on “Friday Finds #1: November 25, 2016

  1. Diana says:

    I requested The Beautiful Dead but I’m yet to get feedback.It does sound interesting.Looking forward to your review of Saving Sophie,I have seen mixed reviews for that but the blurb does sound great.All these books sound good.I like thrillers so I’ll be checking them out.Happy reading and enjoy your weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

