Book Review: The Chemist (Stephenie Meyer)

screen-shot-2016-11-24-at-4-57-31-pm

Juliana worked for the U.S government. In a department, so covert, very few people even knew it existed. She was known as “The Chemist”, taking part in and protecting the deepest and darkest secrets of the agency using her medical background. But then, they decide she is a liability and Juliana finds herself on the run; they want her dead.   However, when her former agency approaches her and offers her a way out, she takes this opportunity to try and settle the score, hoping to make a new life for herself. When her target complicates things, she finds herself in more danger than she ever has before….

The Chemist is the newly published spy thriller by Twilight author, Stephenie Meyer.  Our protagonist, a medical scientist, turned professional government torturer, is on the run after numerous attempted assassinations against her.   Once she is contacted by her old agency and approached to kidnap and torture a new target, things become complicated and she decides to seek revenge instead of running.

I was actually pleasantly surprised with this one. I wasn’t sure how Meyer would move into the adult realm after settling comfortably into the paranormal young adult genre, but I felt like she was able to successfully weave a story with some serious action and with moments of “on the edge of your seat” style tension.

The beginning of the story with the introduction of our protagonist was pretty fantastic. I loved seeing her wit and paranoia as she struggled to maintain her identify and navigate a world where she is being hunted down.   I also enjoyed watching her ease back into her old lifestyle as she prepared to kidnap and torture her new target. Who happens to be a tall, dark and handsome man, named Daniel Beech.

Obviously, we know where this story is going to go.

In true Twilight fashion, Meyer falls back on the “star-crossed lovers” storyline. I’m not a hater. I liked Twilight, so this storyline didn’t necessarily bother me. It just turned the novel into a lot more “fluff” than what I am usually looking for in a thriller. That being said, I did enjoy the twist with her target and how their “working” relationship develops.

Moving along, I found this novel to have some serious lag in the middle. At 518 pages, I needed this one to pack a serious punch all the way through to keep my interest. Unfortunately, I found myself unimpressed halfway through.

This novel was just okay for me. I didn’t find myself particularly hooked after the initial few chapters and by the end, I was satisfied by how everything came together but I wasn’t mind blown or in shock or anything like that.

For someone who enjoys a nice fluffy thriller or for someone who is a die-hard Stephenie Meyer fan, then you’ll love this book. But for someone who is looking for a serious thrill, I would skip this one. I’d say about 200 of those pages are worth your time.

 

12 thoughts on “Book Review: The Chemist (Stephenie Meyer)

  1. Renee says:

    Well, I’m on the wait list at the library for this but now I’m wondering if I should even bother? If you say it’s meh I feel like I’d probably feel the same:)

    Like

  2. Susie | Novel Visits says:

    I’ll admit that I read Twilight and I wasn’t a teen at the time. While I liked the idea of it, I thought the writing was weak. Thanks for the review of The Chemist. I was curious, but I think I’ll pass!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Reading Bingo 2016
  4. cjhuehn09 says:

    I started reading this one about two weeks ago and I’m still stuck on chapter 1. I can’t seem to get into. I had all this high expectations because I personally loved the host and I was hoping that this one would be similar to that book in some way. Unfortunately, I don’t think I will be able to finish it no matter how much I want to, hoping that it might hook me at some point.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

