Book Tag: This Is My Genre,Tell Me Yours

screen-shot-2016-11-24-at-6-51-29-am

Hey everyone!  Coming at you today with the “This is My Genre, Tell Me Yours” book tag.  This tag was created by Drew @ The Tattooed Book Geek.  There are a few simple rules:  give the author of the book tag credit (check!), answer the questions (obviously!) and then tag as many as you want.

So, without further ado, here we go!

What’s your favourite genre?

I will read anything from the mystery, suspense or thriller genre. I feel like I can lump these together because they so commonly overlap.  I also have been dabbling a bit into horror thrillers and I am loving those too!

I love that there are so many options in this genre from a police procedural to a psychological thriller; there is always something different happening.  I also love the plots in these types of books; they always have lots twists and turns. Nothing is ever as it seems.

Who’s your favourite author from this genre?

One of my favourite authors from this genre is Tess Gerritsen. She writes the Rizzoli and Isles series and also a bunch of standalone novels. I can read her books in one sitting easily.

Screen Shot 2016-11-23 at 4.58.28 PM.png

What is it about the genre that keeps pulling you back?

I love how fast paced these books are. They pull you in and keep you on the edge of your seat throughout the entire read. Obviously, as with any genre, there are some that I enjoy more than others, but usually, I love every second!

What’s the book that started your love for your favourite genre?

I used to scour Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen mystery novels when I was in grade school. I even opened my own detective agency for people in my neighbourhood.  I never got any business…so that’s rude.

Screen Shot 2016-11-23 at 5.04.49 PM.png

If you had to recommend at least one book from your favourite genre to a non-reader/someone looking to start reading that genre, what book would you choose and why?

I would start with The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson. It is easy to read and filled with so many twists and turns. It is a page-turner.  I recommend this one to everyone.

Screen Shot 2016-11-23 at 5.05.39 PM.png

I came across this book on Goodreads (as I usually do) and, right away, I saw that it was being compared to Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl. Now, don’t get it twisted, I loved Gone Girl but a lot of books are releasing with the claim that they are similar and, to be frank, I find a majority of them to be duds.
Nonetheless, I bought the book and started reading it one rainy Friday morning. Fast forward five hours later the finished book was sitting in front of me. And I was sitting in shock. Mindblown.
The plot of the story focuses on the plan to murder Ted’s wife and I was hooked to see how they were going to pull this off. The narrative is told in two sections with alternating character perspectives. This has become a pretty popular narration style and I love books like this but it’s hard to do it well. Swanson succeeds with flying colours. Each character is fully developed and their back stories are shared with the reader; which I liked since it slowly tied in all the subplots. Lily is a gem. Her character was constantly leaving me intrigued, confused and angry.  I consider this book a MUST READ and perfect for people just getting their feet wet in the genre.

Why do you read?

I love that I can get completely lost in a book but not be complacent. I am always guessing or trying to figure out what is going to happen next.  I cringe when people say they will just wait for the movie to come out.   I love that when I am reading, I am in complete control to be able to visualize the characters and I can make my own assumptions.

So there we go!  I tag Janel at Keeper of Pages, Danielle at The Blonde Likes Books, Renee at It’s Book Talk, Anne at The Misstery, Chelsea at The Suspense Is Thrilling Me and anyone else who wants to take on this tag!

Happy Wednesday!!

8 thoughts on “Book Tag: This Is My Genre,Tell Me Yours

  1. Yvo says:

    I love anything mystery, suspense or thriller as well… That’s why joining Netgalley earlier this year has been so dangerous haha. I really have to pick up The Kind Worth Killing soon by the way I was planning to a few months back but somehow I ended up reading other titles instead while forgetting about this title. Shame on me!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Annie says:

    Ohh, thank you so much for tagging me ❤
    I will do this soon!!!!

    Loved that you created your own agency hahaha I promise I would've asked you to find out who was sending me notes in class 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

