#ShelfieSunday: Overhauling My Bookshelves with Colourfully Kayla

My bookshelves are a mess. There. I said it.

I try to figure out how to organize them to be functional and nice to look at but I, instead, find myself stacking my reads randomly.

Exhibit A:  Don’t judge me…

Screen Shot 2016-11-13 at 7.36.40 PM.png

 

Enter Kayla from Colourfully Kayla.

Colourfully Kayla is a lifestyle blog that looks at outfits, beauty, home decor, and my personal favourite, books!  I’ve been friends with Kayla for years and since she writes this lifestyle blog, I begged asked and she took pity upon my disorganized soul agreed to help me do a complete overhaul of my shelves!

Needless to say, I am pretty pleased with my results!  I asked her to come on over to Clues and Reviews to give the lowdown on exactly what she did.

Without further ado, here’s Kayla!

Hi Everyone! I’m Kayla from “Colourfully Kayla,” a lifestyle blog focused on my favourite things, which happen to include books and decorating! I spent Saturday night with friend, and fellow book club member Sam, from “Clues and Reviews” swapping favourite reads and also working on a fun and easy home decorating project. Obviously, Sam has stacks upon stacks of good reads and luckily bookshelves to store these gems, but I was recruited to do some fast and easy bookshelf arranging.

Sam’s shelves are great focal points in her home so it was great to incorporate decor accessories she already had such as bookends, candles, picture frames, etc.

My advice for anyone trying to decorate bookshelves would be to gather more than just books. If you have special knickknacks in your home you are unsure where to place, it is always fun to display on a stack of books!

My other tip for shelf decor would be not to make the mistake of placing all of the books in a single line. With Sam’s books, I created various vertical and horizontal stacks, spiraled stacks, and leaning books as well. I also enjoy grouping books into colour categories as you can see with the reds, blues, and greens used in Sam’s shelves. In less than 45 minutes we had completely transformed the shelves.

If you do not have bookshelves in your own home, but you do have books to spare, I would suggest using them to decorate your home spaces. My latest blog post on “Colourfully Kayla” outlines fun ways I’ve incorporated book decor throughout my home that goes beyond traditional bookshelves!

Hope you enjoyed this easy DIY decor idea and I look forward to future collaborations with “Clues and Reviews.”

screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-7-37-30-pm

Screen Shot 2016-11-13 at 7.36.51 PM.png   Screen Shot 2016-11-13 at 7.37.23 PM.png

Loving my shelves new look and loving how organized I feel…now, let’s hope I can keep it this way!!

Head on over to Colourfully Kayla to check out my guest post about my top reads of 2016!

 

One thought on “#ShelfieSunday: Overhauling My Bookshelves with Colourfully Kayla

Leave a Reply

