Book Tag: Fall Activities

screen-shot-2016-11-24-at-6-51-29-am

Fall is my favourite season. I cannot get enough of it; the leaves, sweater weather, the arrival of pumpkin spice lattes….

Needless to say, I was so excited when my friend Janel at Keeper of Pages tagged me in this book tag!

Apple Picking (a book on your TBR list that looks so good you can’t wait to take a bite out of it!)

I cannot wait to read Kathryn Croft’s newest novel, While You Were Sleeping.   As soon as I read the short blurb on Goodreads, I knew I had to read it.

You wake up to find the man beside you is dead. He is not your husband. This is not your bed.
What do you do?

 Like..….What?!

This one is on my Kobo ready to go. It’s going to end up being my first read in November since I cannot take it anymore!!

screen-shot-2016-10-28-at-5-37-49-pm

 

Corn Maze (a book that was fun to get lost in)

I just recently read, I’m Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid. This one was MESSED up and full of twists and turns. I got completely lost and manipulated by the author while I read this book. The end blew my mind.

screen-shot-2016-10-28-at-5-38-49-pm

Haunted House (a book that scares you silly)

I am not one to be easily afraid while reading; I wouldn’t say that I have found a book that “scares me silly”.  However, I did read a book that was creepy and the idea of the concept “scares me silly”.   Paul Tremblay’s A Head Full of Ghosts was a fantastic book I read recently, that discusses exorcisms and demon possession in a 14-year-old girl.  The concept of demon possession is terrifying to me!  You don’t mess around with that stuff…YIKES!

Screen Shot 2016-10-28 at 5.42.20 PM.png

 

 

Pumpkin Patch (last book you picked up/purchased)

I was supposed to be on a “no buy” for books during October, but I casually went into the Goodwill bookstore last weekend and saw The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena! This one has been on my TBR list since it’s release, so, obviously, I took that one home!

I plan on reading it in November.

screen-shot-2016-10-28-at-5-15-31-pm

 

 

Scenic Drives (a book that is lyrically beautiful)

I always felt like The Road by Cormac McCarthy was one of the most lyrical books I ever read. It flowed beautifully and he used vivid language to describe situations that were downright grotesque. Also, this book is just plain awesome.

screen-shot-2016-10-28-at-5-43-19-pm

Pumpkin Carving (a book you didn’t enjoy much and you wouldn’t mind carving up!)

My book club read Intensity by Dean Koontz for our October book; this one I wouldn’t mind chopping up and forgetting about. The beginning was actually pretty scary, it had it’s moments in the middle as well, but by the end I was completely over this book and hated the writing style. The only reason I would ever consider picking this one up again is so I can count the number of times the word INTENSE was used. We get it Dean….we get it.

screen-shot-2016-10-28-at-5-44-04-pm

Drink Apple Cider (a book to curl up under the covers with)

I would choose Baby Doll by Hollie Overton. I loved this book this past month and I spent a Sunday afternoon curled up with this one and completely devoured it. It definitely isn’t a book that will make you feel warm and fuzzy, but it is absolutely one that you won’t want to put down so you better get comfortable!

screen-shot-2016-10-28-at-5-45-18-pm

 

Jumping In A Pile of Leaves (a book that reminds you of your childhood)

There is a book I used to carry around with me all the time when I was a kid. It was called Dead Letter and was written by Betsy Byars. It was the third book in a series of mysteries that had a girl named Herculeah Jones as the protagonist.   I don’t really even remember fully what this book was about; there was a letter found in the pocket or lining of an old coat and she realizes she is being followed.   This book was some serious business to me back then. I was terrified.

screen-shot-2016-10-28-at-5-46-16-pm

The Flowers in the Attic series by V.C Andrews also always reminds me of my childhood. I got the first book at a used bookstore with my mom when I was eight and she got the rest of the novels for me that Christmas. I could not even believe that books like that existed! I still re-read them every year around Christmas time. For anyone who hasn’t read these books, you need to!

screen-shot-2016-10-28-at-5-47-15-pm

Scary Movie Night (favorite spooky read)

I love anything by Ania Ahlborn. I have said it before and I’ll say it again! Everything she writes is absolutely terrifying!

I recently read Brother by her and could not get over it. It was fantastic and creepy; it has quite a bit of gore though so be warned.

Screen Shot 2016-10-28 at 5.47.59 PM.png

 

I hope that you got some ideas or suggestions for some new reads!  I know that’s one of the reasons why I love reading posts like this.

I tag: Joyce from The Paper Back Princess  and Nat from An Aussie Bookworm

Happy Reading!!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Tag: Fall Activities

  1. Keeper of Pages says:

    Yay, so happy you took up the tag, great choice of books!! A Head Full of Ghosts is on my TBR and I’m intrigued by Brother, might have to check that one out. I’ve never actually read a book by Koontz before 🙈 What are your book club reading next month?

    Like

Leave a Reply

