Book Review: Dark Matter (Blake Crouch)

img_0372

Jason Dessen, a physicist, is busy in the monotony of his life. He has a wife and a son. He works in a teaching job that reminds him of what he gave up to start a family. One night, he is abducted and awakens to find himself in an entirely different world. His wife is not his wife. His child is not his child.   Which reality is true? Can he make it back home to what he knows?

Dark Matter, by Blake Crouch, is a science fiction thriller that will leave its reader flipping through the pages as fast as they can!   This novel is extremely hard to review without revealing spoilers, but I will do my best!!

To start, this book was completely different from books I normally read. Obviously, I love thrillers, but I rarely read anything in the science fiction genre. Not because I am completely against it, but because I never really found anything that interested me. This book completely made me change my perception.

This book truly had a little bit of everything. A fantastic love story, science fiction elements, elements of a thriller and underlying philosophical questions. This book had me on the edge of my seat.

Our story is narrated through the eyes of Jason, our protagonist. This was an awesome perspective since the majority of the time, Jason is confused as he tries to decode what is happening and navigate his way through his “new life”. Jason’s character was an easy one to want to root for and his emotions were easily transferred through his narration.   It was easy for me to get caught up in the plot and connect with this character through this narration.

Crouch’s writing style was also appealing to me. I love simple, to the point narration. This is exactly how this book was written.   I felt like Crouch spent the most time developing an awesome, complex plot and didn’t get too concerned with dense language and vocabulary. I’m glad he chose to write the story this way. I think any other way would have made the plot harder to access, especially for a science fiction newbie like myself!

The notion of this book itself is crazy, and super philosophical, the idea of what we could have vs. what we have. What we need vs. what we think we need. Thinking about the path not taken and the repercussions of making those decisions.   Crouch takes all of these ideas and transforms into a concept that actually creeped me out.

I don’t know what else to say other than to urge you to read this book. I can say, with certainty, that it is one of the best, if not the best, book I have read all year.

 WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS READ? YES!!

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Dark Matter (Blake Crouch)

  1. itsbooktalk says:

    Great review and it was a hard book to review without spoilers! I loved this book as well. A friend recommended it and I almost passed on it when he said ‘science fiction’ but I’m really glad I gave it a try. It’ll be one of my top 10 of 2016 for sure

    Like

Leave a Reply

