Book Review: The Trespasser (Tana French)

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-7-04-44-am

The Trespasser, by Tana French, is a police procedural crime thriller that is a part of the Dublin Murder Squad series.   This novel opens with the murder of a young woman. Although it initially appears to be an open/close domestic dispute involving the dead woman’s boyfriend, Detective Antoinette Conway soon realizes something far more sinister is going on…

The Trespasser is the first Dublin Murder Squad book I have read.   I have a few others on my TBR shelf, but alas, I always seem to have something else take priority (#bookwormproblems).   I was worried initially that I would need to read the other five in the series, but after some serious discussion with fellow book bloggers and bookstagrammers, I decided it would be alright to read as a stand alone and then go back to read the earlier books if I wanted to.   Luckily, I was able to follow the plot no problem; each novel is a separate story line. However, I do feel like I would have understood and would have been more connected to the characters if I had read the books in order.

This book gave me some seriously mixed feelings.   Initially, I was having some real issues getting into the plot. I felt like maybe this was because I hadn’t read any of the other books so I was unfamiliar with the characters and with French’s writing style. Her prose is rich, vivid and extremely detailed.   I loved the way the characters spoke. She did an amazing job at setting the stage by using Irish vernacular. I was able to imagine the entire book with an Irish accent, which I felt was very cool. However, when I came to plot, I found that sometimes her writing became too descriptive and I got lost in the wording instead of in the story.  I found myself becoming more confused with the police procedural than enjoying it while it all unfolded.

Halfway through the book, it took a turn for the better. I became extremely invested in the story.   As the plot developed and the Squad followed the murder trail, it was hard to put this book down. I loved the twists that French threw into the plot and the red herrings that were consistently planted. I’m always a fan of a kick-ass female lead, so Antoinette Conway as the lead detective was fantastic.

The novel continued to slow down and pick up for the remaining chapters. This is not a book that you could binge read and perhaps that was my first mistake.  I wanted something extremely fast paced and this book is truly more of a roller coaster ride. It slowly builds, picks up speed, and continues to slowly build until the end. The end of this book was fantastic! I really did like the way it all came together.

This is not a book for someone who is looking for a fast, paced thriller. However, if you are a fan of police procedurals and enjoy a slow moving read then this would be the novel for you!

WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK?  The book is worth the read as long as you expect the long narrative.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Trespasser (Tana French)

  1. itsbooktalk says:

    Great review! I agree this isn’t a fast paced thriller. I didn’t read The Secret Place and felt I could’ve known Antoinette and Steven better if I had, but I still loved this book. you might want to give Broken Harbor a try

    Like

  2. Keeper of Pages says:

    Great detailed review, I commend you for jumping in without reading the first ones, I nearly always have to read book series in order (that’s why I’m so behind on some series, haven’t even started this one yet 🙈)

    Like

Leave a Reply

