Book Review: Behind Closed Doors (B.A Paris)

screen-shot-2016-10-17-at-11-12-44-pm

Jack and Grace are the envy of their circle of friends. Jack, a successful lawyer, defends battered women and dotes on his wife. Grace is the epitome of a perfect wife; she’s put together, well versed and beautiful.   They live a perfect life within a perfect marriage….or do they?

Since the release of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, domestic thrillers have become all the rage.   So it really didn’t surprise me when B.A Paris’ Behind Closed Doors gained instant popularity. I have heard nothing but amazing things about this book from all my favourite book bloggers so, needless to say, I was very excited to finally get my hands on this book when I saw it at the library.

The story revolves around Grace who is swept off her feet by the handsome Jack Angel. A lawyer, he takes Grace on a whirlwind romance and soon they are making plans to be married. Grace, who has devoted her life to taking care of her special needs sister, is in awe that someone like Jack would desire her…but is it her that he truly wants? As the story unfolds, and as the title suggests, we see their true relationship and how this charming man turned into a nightmare.

The novel, told entirely through Grace’s perspective, is a little different from the books I have been reading lately. For one, Grace is reliable. FINALLY! A reliable, female narrator I can trust! I found Grace to be an extremely likable character; I was rooting for her. She weaves the tale through going back and forth in time; we get to see the development of the abuse, how Grace has dealt and coped with the abuse and her need to protect her sister.

The novel is an easy read and completely addicting; I finished it in one sitting.   The plot, in the beginning, is layered slowly and deliberately. I would say the first fifty pages or so left me feeling unnerved and uneasy.   I kept thinking to myself that bad things were going to be happening.   I didn’t know what and I didn’t know when but I knew it was going to be bad!   However, in the middle of the book, I started to lose a little bit of interest. This book had a few solid plot twists that I appreciated, I’ll give it that, but it was considerably predictable.

I really enjoyed the relationship between Grace and her sister, Millie. She added a bit of comic relief in the otherwise depressing story. I also really loved the way that B.A Paris portrayed her as a strong-willed character; she wasn’t written as a special needs stock character but as a character who was a major key in the story. I also really enjoyed the ending.

WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK? I would read it but I wouldn’t push everything aside to move it to the top of my TBR pile. It’s a light read, somewhat predictable, but enjoyable nonetheless!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Behind Closed Doors (B.A Paris)

Leave a Reply

