Anticipating The Girl On The Train: Books Into Movie Discussion

 

Screen Shot 2016-10-06 at 8.44.13 AM.png

I love books. I love everything about them. I love the way the author can weave a plot. I love the way the characters can arch together and tangle themselves with their storylines. I love multi-perspective narration where I can see what other characters are planning and anticipate what they may do.   When reading such an amazing book, I sometimes think to myself about how the novel would play out on screen.  With that being said, I have discovered that I am a book purist. I have never been pleased with the final product of a book turned movie.

Firstly, I find the plots are usually changed. This really irks me. Plot points are taken out completely, downplayed or downright altered. Now, I understand that it comes down to the director’s vision, the screenplay, and all that Hollywood jazz but don’t they understand that in order for the plot to play out to its true potential we need it ALL?!  Second, they normally ruin the mental image I have of the characters.   Depending on who is cast can change the entire interpretation of the character and how that character is relating to others. Third, it takes away any chance of imagination or guesswork. You are watching it unfold mindlessly. This is great for entertainment but it’s not the same.

I also can’t help but feel bitter when I have been an advocate and fan for a novel for a long time and then, all of a sudden, it gets made into a movie and people want to discuss it. I feel like saying “I LOVED THAT BOOK FIRST, YOU LITERATURE BANDWAGONERS!” Is this petty? Absolutely.  #sorrynotsorry

Screen Shot 2016-10-06 at 8.39.16 AM.png

I understand the balance must be difficult between pleasing the people who have the read the book and trying to include the people who haven’t read it, but I feel like sometimes they dropped the ball. They dropped the ball BIG TIME.

Harry Potter? LOVED the books by J.K Rowling. Who doesn’t love Harry Potter? The movies are just okay for me. They skip plot points and jumble important moments. The books are far more superior.     My Sister’s Keeper? Jodi Picoult’s novel had me feeling all sorts of feels. After watching the movie I feel the fury of a thousand suns. The ending. WHY?   Alex Cross, based on the James Patterson mystery series, left me cringing.   Gillian Flynn’s, Gone Girl, stayed considerably close to the narrative but still left me wishing they had stayed directly with the way it was written.

The next big movie adaptation being released this week is The Girl On The Train. The book, written by Paula Hawkins, received a huge amount of hype and has been compared continuously to Gone Girl.

I’d like to say I’ll avoid it, but since I am a glutton for punishment, I’ll obviously be going to see it.   Let’s finally hope a book to movie adaptation proves me wrong!

Screen Shot 2016-10-06 at 8.38.51 AM.png

Leave a Reply

