Charity Event HUGE Book Haul: The Terry Fox Foundation Used Book Sale

screen-shot-2016-09-11-at-7-25-36-pm

 

I am a book hoarder. Because of this, I love book hauls. I love book hauls, even more, when I get to help out an amazing charity at the same time!

Each year, my hometown hosts a Used Book Sale for the Terry Fox Foundation for Cancer. Not only has this foundation raised over 650 million dollars for cancer research, but it’s also a foundation that started in Canada!

So, of course, I was super excited when the dates for this event were announced. It’s actually pretty amazing how it’s organized; they have two weekends where people can come and donate their used books. The volunteers organize them all and then the sale opens to the public for a full weekend and the following Saturday. That Sunday is the Terry Fox Run.

Now I am a not a runner, but I can do my part by purchasing some books! So I went this weekend and purchased a whole bunch of books that were on my Goodreads wish list (and a couple that weren’t because I have no self control).   It was the perfect opportunity for me to purchase some books by some authors I had never read before.

 Ashes to Ashes and Dust to Dust by Tami Hoag.

I have never actually read anything by Hoag but I only hear good things. I know that these two novels are the introductory novels for her Kovac and Liska series. I made the mistake of purchasing The 9th Girl without realizing that it was the fourth novel in the series. I can’t just start there, so of course, I have to back track and read the others first!

 Whistleblower and Presumed Guilty by Tess Gerritsen.

Tess Gerritsen is my ride or die author. I absolutely love everything she has ever written. I was actually blowing through her Rizzoli and Isles books so quickly that I had to make myself step back and read something else so I could cherish the last few! Talk about bookwork problems. I ended up finding a few of the earliest published novels here so I got those.

 Buried Angels and The Stonecutter by Camilla Lackberg.

I have read about her on countless blogs but haven’t gotten around to reading any of them yet. I am pretty excited to read these ones.   I have heard really good things about her writing.

 Snow White Must Die by Nele Neuhaus.

This German mystery author I had never heard of, until I read about her on Crime Fiction Lover. They had given this book four stars. That was enough to peak my interest! Plus Snow White is my favourite Disney Princess so they got me on the title!

I also ended up picking up The Collector by Nora Roberts, You by Caroline Kepnes, Eeny Meeny by M.J Arlidge, Devil Bones by Kathy Reichs and Where I Lost Her by T. Greenwood.

Not a bad haul eh?

Have you ever read any of these? Which one should I read first?

Leave a Reply

