Meet My Book Club: Six Book Club Reads in Ten Words or Less!

Fun fact about me.  I have been in book clubs for as long as I can remember. I even started a book club at my high school. The first book that I made them suggested that we read was The Black Dahlia (surprise, surprise). I guess some things never change….

Our monthly book club meeting is something I always look forward to. Not only because of the amazing company, or the chicken wontons (so yum) but also for the discussion. Currently, my book club consists of a group of teachers that I went to teacher’s college with. We have all kept in touch and even though our lives are crazy, we always make time to come together to gossip and drink wine discuss our newest read!

Our hostess always has our meeting decked out. She is amazing!   It’s all about the details folks.

We choose all of the books on rotation. We have a running list of books we want to read, but we usually get distracted by something with buzz.  When it’s my turn, we end up reading some sort of crime fiction or thriller- shocking, I know. I’m lucky that we are all pretty interested in those types of books!   We are all bookworms so part of the issue (usually) is finding something that we all haven’t read! I always end up leaving with another heap of suggestions for my TBR pile.

It’s nice when we rotate our choices; it gets me out of my comfort zone. For example, I rarely read memoirs or non-fiction. I would never choose to read that on my own.

In the past little while, our book club has read some gems and some major duds.   I’ll give you the lowdown in 10 words or less.

Book Club 1: I Am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes

Slow moving. Intricate. Have patience? Not bad. Otherwise skip it.

screen-shot-2016-09-06-at-10-26-50-pm

Book Club 2: Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff

Obama loved.  Whiny protagonist. Second half redeemed itself. Major dud.

 screen-shot-2016-09-06-at-10-26-17-pm

Book Club 3: A Pleasure and A Calling by Phil Hogan

Scary. Plot twists. Reminded me of Criminal Minds. Read it.

Screen Shot 2016-09-06 at 10.28.05 PM.png

Book Club 4: Trouble Maker by Leah Remini

I wanted more secrets about Tom Cruise. Dud.

 Screen Shot 2016-09-06 at 10.34.22 PM.png

Book Club 5: The Girls by Emma Cline

Loved it. Loved it. Loved it. Loved it. Read now.

 screen-shot-2016-09-06-at-10-34-35-pm

Book Club 6: Marrow by Tarryn Fisher

Not expected. Plot twists. Vigilante.   Read it.

screen-shot-2016-09-06-at-10-34-57-pm

 For our book club meeting coming up, we are reading Noah Hawley’s novel Before the Fall.  

What should we read in October? Any ideas or suggestions!?

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

