Book Review: Truly Madly Guilty (Liane Moriarty)

Screen Shot 2016-08-28 at 11.31.29 AM

I love Liane Moriarty’s writing. Her two most recent novels, Big Little Lies and The Husband’s Secret, I finished in single afternoons. I could not put them down. They were the type of novels that had everything. Mystery, suspense, highly developed characters and a carefully woven plot that was complex and dysfunctional. Needless to say, I loved everything about them.

When I realized Moriarty’s newest novel, Truly Madly Guilty, was coming out this summer, I rejoiced! Now, having finished the book, I have to say I am left disappointed.

The novel starts out well enough. Sam and Clementime are happily married with two beautiful daughters. Clementime’s childhood best friend, Erica invite them family over to her home for a barbecue at her next -door neighbour’s house and tragedy strikes.

Like her previous novels, the story is told in flashbacks (from the day of the barbecue) and from the present day through multiple character lenses.  Each character has been extremely affected by the event at the barbecue. We get everyone’s perspectives, which I do enjoy.

However, I found nothing about this novel especially suspenseful or mysterious. I did want to know what unfolded at the barbecue, but once I knew, it all seemed anti-climatic.  It was not up to par with her previous books.

It’s a nice read for the beach but I don’t think I’d read it again or highly recommend it to anyone. It fell flat for me.

 WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK? Nah. I’d pass on this one and read some of her other’s instead. Big Little Lies, The Husband’s Secret and the Hypnotist’s Love Story were some of my favs.

Leave a Reply

