Book Review: The Kind Worth Killing (Peter Swanson)

 

Screen Shot 2016-08-24 at 9.27.27 PM

Swanson’s 2015 novel The Kind Worth Killing focuses on Ted, a  wealthy, middle-aged man married to an adulteress.  He meets a young, beautiful woman (Lily) at the airport while they are waiting for their flight.  Ted opens up about his marital woes so Lily offers to help Ted murder his wife.  Naturally.

I came across this book on Goodreads (as I usually do) and, right away, I saw that it was being compared to Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl.  Now, don’t get it twisted, I loved Gone Girl but a lot of books are releasing with the claim that they are similar and, to be frank, I find a majority of them to be duds.

Nonetheless, I bought the book and started reading it one rainy Friday morning.  Fast forward five hours later and I was finished the book.  Sitting in shock.  Mind blown.

The plot of the story focuses on the plan to murder Ted’s wife and I was hooked to see how they were going to pull this off.  The narrative is told in two sections with alternating character perspectives.  This has become a pretty popular narration style and I love books like this but it’s hard to do it well.  Swanson succeeds with flying colours.  Each character is fully developed and their back stories are shared with the reader; which I liked since it slowly tied in all the subplots.  Lily is a gem.  Her character was constantly leaving me intrigued, confused and angry.

I usually can find SOMETHING I don’t care for in anything I read.  But, honestly, this book leaves nothing for me to desire.  It was awesome.  This novel is one of my favourite books I have read this year.  Hands down. Fans of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl will L.O.V.E this book.

WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK?  YESSSSS!

Have you read The Kind Worth Killing?  What did you think?

 

 

Leave a Reply

